Budget Planning

I'm new to the current Quicken Subscription and I have an issue I cannot figure out. I set up my Budget in the Planning Tab. All went well, until I realized that my budget allocations did not show up in prior months but were correct in August. It seemed to show a budget amount thousands less than the amount reflected as income. I cannot seem to find a way to make that happen correctly. Any thoughts? Am I missing something?

Thanks!

Comments

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

"All went well, until I realized that my budget allocations did not show up in prior months but were correct in August."

I'm not really sure what you're telling us here.

When I used to use Quicken's budgeting process, if I looked at the budget under Planning > Budget > Annual View > Details or ran a Current Budget report I saw columns with budgeted figures for each month and each Category, with Actual numbers alongside of them. If I did this in April, say, and then again in December, the earlier months' budgeted amounts were always the same.

Are you saying that the "budget" numbers are missing, or have changed somehow? When you set up your budget were you "hard coding" the budget amounts, i.e., the budget numbers for all months are fixed and permanent, or have you elected "rolling over" budget amounts?

• Thanks Tom. Actually I’m not talking about running reports. On the top blue bar there is a tab called planning. When you create one you select categories you want included, both income and expenses. It then creates a dynamic bar chart that automatically changes throughout the month that shows you progress on each category, thus in one category you’re under budget by , and another you’re over budget by X. It also show your over all budget for the month and you can see how much of your budget is used/left as each expense is recorded.