Leaving Quickbooks

Options
K Ridge
K Ridge Member
edited October 2023 in Before you Buy

I am a bookkeeper of 35 years I have had nothing but problems with both the windows and Mac versions of all the new QuickBooks. I want to go back to Quicken for my clients but everything I'm reading says this as well is auto everything. I do not want my clients information auto downloading nor do I need it to auto anything. I want to have the controls I used to have in entering and reconciling accounts, along with A/R, A/P. I really like some of the features in reports but can turning sync off truly keep my clients information from being downloaded. I know the CPA's I work with also refuse to auto or online anything this is becoming a true problem. We just want software that works and doesn't require clients info to go across any Cloud platforms. Can someone help the old-schoolers out?

Comments

• volvogirl
    volvogirl SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

You can still use Quicken manually. If you aren't going to download or use online services you can use an older version. Do you still have your old program? What year/version? I'm staying on Quicken 2013. By the way, You can't convert QuickBooks data to Quicken so you will have to start over.

I'm staying on Quicken 2013 Premier for Windows.

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options

We're in the minority, but there are Quicken users like me who don't download transactions and enter everything manually. 😀 It works well, for anyone willing to spend the time entering the transactions. And you'll have none of the complications or problems when financial institutions change their websites, security, protocols, etc.

I want to have the controls I used to have in entering and reconciling accounts, along with A/R, A/P.