Cannot access Quicken servers

Options
JoeQckn
JoeQckn Member ✭✭

I have been using Quicken 2016 Home and Business for several years. I'm currently running R19.5. About a week ago, I started having issues with anything that attempts to connect to Quicken servers.

If I select Help - Check for Updates, it gives me a pop-up saying, "We are unable to contact the Quicken server. Please check your internet connectivity and try again. If the problem persists, try again later."

If I select the option to Update Quotes, I now get a pop-up window with the title, "Enter Quicken ID Password," but the pop-up window is just blank. All I can do is close it. Then I get the message, "Quicken's Online service is unavailable at this time. Please try again later. We apologize for the inconvenience."

I'm running Windows 10. I'm not using a VPN. I tried turning off the firewall in Windows Defender, but it didn't matter. I would appreciate assistance. Thank you.

Comments

• volvogirl
    volvogirl SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

2016 is too old to connect to Quicken or any online services. Unless you have upgraded to a current subscription version.

I'm staying on Quicken 2013 Premier for Windows.

• JoeQckn
    JoeQckn Member ✭✭
    Options

Did it just recently become too old? It was working fine until about a week ago. The only service I use is to get updated price quotes for my investments.

• splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

QW2016 has not been supported for anything online (download/updates) since April 2019.

So, anything that you might have gotten since that date was pure luck.

-splasher using Q continuously since 1996
    - Subscription Quicken - Win11 and QW2013 - Win11
    -Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• JoeQckn
    JoeQckn Member ✭✭
    Options

OK, thank you. I have an alternative process to generate a CSV file with stock quotes, which Quicken allows me to import, so I'm OK with using Quicken as a stand-alone product.