Best way to synch up account timeframes

Options
Flotzam
Flotzam Member ✭✭

I am new to Quicken, still at the stage of creating accounts, downloading data and checking to make sure all the ending balances are making sense.

At my broker, I have a checking account and a primary brokerage account.

When I noticed the Quicken checking account was created with 90 days of history, I manually downloaded more history one quarter at a time because I wanted to analyze my spending for 2022 vs 2023.

My main brokerage account at this point only has 90 days of history.

I have transfers from my checking account to the brokerage account that are showing up as un-categorized expenses and they occur more than 90 days ago, so there is no corresponding transaction in my brokerage account to match them to.

Should I start downloading older brokerage account transactions one quarter at a time to make the two accounts history timeframes match? I am a little worried that doing that may also mess up the brokerage account data because I see quicken has created a couple of manual transactions to set the starting balance so that it matches the on-line balance. If I download transactions that pre-date the manual baseline-setting that Quicken did, do I need to delete those and create my own to set the initial balance, or will Quicken re-set them?

If I decide I don't want to download the brokerage history, is there a way I can modify the orphan-transfers so they don't get categorized as expenses?

I honestly don't recall what happened with the checking account when I downloaded old history, I had a ton of manual patching up to do making credit card payments all synch up between accounts and I don't remember if I deleted and re-added initial balance numbers there or not.

Answers

• Quicken Kristina
    Options

Hello @Flotzam,