Can Quicken be used to model performance of my investments (edit)

Options
lee de cola
lee de cola Member ✭✭
edited January 9 in Investing (Windows)

i'm a data scientist new to Quicken and i'd like to use it to manage my investments (10 'funds'). in particular I’d like to use it to model possible future performance if I shift money from my existing funds to others.

it's important that i keep the information offline.

Tagged:

Answers

• q_lurker
    q_lurker SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

My opinion - Quicken does a good job for the most part managing the investments you have. It is not programmed to help you forecast the future or assist you with detailed risk / reward assessment and evaluation. Your goal "to model possible future performance" suggests to me Quicken is not the right program for you.

• splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

it's important that i keep the information offline.

That's easy, don't download, do not use Quicken Web/Mobile, that should keep all of your data out of the Quicken Cloud Account.

-splasher using Q continuously since 1996
    - Subscription Quicken - Win11 and QW2013 - Win11
    -Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• bmciance
    bmciance SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

I agree with q_lurker, forecasting future returns and such is not Quicken's sweet spot. It does a pretty good job of managing what you have but not modeling for future performance.

• lee de cola
    lee de cola Member ✭✭
    Options

thanks - then i'll probably continue to use R and excel…

• Ps56k2
    Ps56k2 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Quicken is a data keeping software program - not created for data modeling…

Suggest you ask over in the - http://www.bogleheads.org/forum/index.php

QWin - R54.16 - Win10

• lee de cola
    lee de cola Member ✭✭
    Options

the reason i want to do some modeling is that i want to explore some divestment from vanguard…

• Ps56k2
    Ps56k2 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options