NEED TO REINSTALL BUT...

Options
roberta
roberta Member ✭✭

HI, I have a Windows 11 PC that I had Quicken Home & Business 2015 installed on. It's been working PERFECTLY until…my hard drive failed and I had to reinstall everything. Here's my question…When I try to reinstall the program from the original DVD, I get a message telling me I need to uninstall the previous version manually before I can reinstall. I've been operating computers since 1988 and know what I'm doing…I uninstalled, rebooted, then went back and manually deleted some of the leftover files - including in the system register and then rebooted - only to get the same error again. We use this for our small business which we will be retiring from in 2 years after 45yrs so I have NO INTEREST in purchasing new software especially since I've been using this for so long without any Quicken problems. Any ideas on how to get this reinstalled? I need to start my year end reports etc…. Thanks

Answers

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

How did you do that uninstall?

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Since your hard drive failed, you might be out of luck on getting your Quicken 2015 to function. A while back there was a change made to the Quicken.ini file that does not work with Quicken 2014-2017 so those programs will not work if/when they are reinstalled.