Anyone else missing old transactions?

Options

I am using Quicken Classic Deluxe subscription on a Windows 10 desktop.

I usually update my data and transactions bi-weekly.

In mid-January, I opened Quicken and was prompted (as usual) to install an update. After installing the update, I downloaded and accepted new transactions. Then, I began to reconcile my accounts. Two of my accounts — one checking account and one credit card account — would not reconcile correctly. After MANY hours, I discovered that two transactions from 2008 in my checking account register were missing. I also discovered that one transaction from early 2023 in my credit card account register was missing.

How does this happen??? I've been using Quicken since 1995, and I've never had transactions just disappear (delete themselves).

After fixing everything, I made a backup.

Now, two weeks later, I open Quicken again and install an update. I downloaded and accepted new transactions. But then, to my surprise, a noticed a different credit card account, which previously showed a $0.00 balance, now shows a balance owed of nearly $3,000. I have not used this credit card in months.

Rather than spend many hours again trying to discover the discrepancies, I just restored the backup that I made in mid-January.

These issues are causing me to question the integrity of Quicken's software.

Is anyone else experiencing similar issues with the most recent software updates?

Answers

• Quicken Kristina
    Options

Hello @BreakupsAreHard,

To answer your question, transactions should not randomly go missing. The most likely cause would be issues in your data file. Keeping your main file on a shared network drive or synced with a cloud service can increase the odds of such issues (click this link for more information). There is also a small chance of file issues any time the file is converted, including when it is converted to work with the newest update to the program.