IRA distributions not appearing on Tax Summary and Tax schedule reports

Options
k4to@arrl
k4to@arrl Member ✭✭
edited March 24 in Reports (Windows)

I have read the previous discussion about this and cannot understand how to do what was reccommended, but my problem makes it clear that that that advice doesn't apply. I have used Quicken since the days of Windows 9i5, so I am not a beginner. I still learn, though.

I have three IRA accounts from which I draw RMD amounts every month. I enter the transactions manually. As far as I can tell, the account setups are identical on all three accounts. The monhly activity of two of the three accounts appears correctly in the Tax Summary and Tax Schedule reports. The third doesn't appear anywhere at all.

Believe it or not, this has been going on for thirty years. Each year I enter tax form info manually for the missing account. If I knew of an expert on Quicken, I would gladly pay to have this corrected. Yes, thirty years is correct. I am 82 years old and have been retired for 30 years. I count my blessings.

I have run Quicken on PCs for years, but now am running Quicken Classic Personnal and Business on my Mac Mini uaing Parallels and Windows 11 A.R.M. This problem has been with me consistently no matter what machine or O/S I am running. Thanks for thinking of this with me. Dave in KY.

Comments

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

I'm not sure what discussion you read about recording IRA distributions, but here is my "Cheat sheet". If anything here is unclear, please post back in this discussion with any questions.

In the IRA, click on the gear at the top right and select Edit account details. Click on Tax Schedule and set Transfers out to 1099R: Total IRA taxable distrib., like this: