Issue Fixing Downloaded Transfers Categories to Correct Account

Options

I am new to Quicken and not an accountant; worse an Engineer.

Quicken automatically sets categories for transfers to the same account (self referential); [Account A]. When I change it to the correct account [account b], it creates a new entry in [account b] with a red pencil saying that it did not find a match. In a row above or below in [account b] will be the transfer entry that should have been linked. I can delete the dup entry, but there has to be a better way.

Answers

• JAbro
    JAbro Member ✭✭
    Options

Strange thing is that sometimes there is not a matching transfer in the other account.

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

The best way to handle transfers is to enter them manually or via a Reminder before the corresponding transactions are downloaded. This almost always results in the downloads matching the already-entered transfer.

The next best way is to enable automatic transfer detection at Edit > Preferences > Transfer detection. This usually works even if the transfer was not entered before downloading.

QWin Premier subscription
  • JAbro
    JAbro Member ✭✭
    Options

Thanks @Jim_Harman! I am trying to reconcile back to Jan 2023 from a new Quicken install. So, I am doing this after the initial downloads. The issues is I get Account A reconciled, then move to Account B. When I fix the transfers in Account B, it messes up account A and other accounts that I have not gotten to. I guess if I delete each duplicate entry that results I can do that but that means doing this iteratively with the 100's of transfers. BTW: How do I get rid of the "red pencil".

I have more than a dozen accounts and make 20+ transfers per month, so manual entry for each transaction would make me want to go back to my spreadsheet.

• Jim_Harman
    Options