Tracking Roth and Traditional contributions in one retirement account

jwillis84
jwillis84 Quicken Windows Subscription Member ✭✭
edited July 6 in Investing (Windows)

I don't mean to incite frustration.

But the level of detail and escalation for this topic is rather long and deep.

I am new at trying to use the "old" way and found it confusing from the Threads available.

Simply, in as few words as possible;

1. Quicken lets you set up a new account of type 401k (x) tax deferred.
  2. When you setup a paycheck using
  3. [BILLS & INCOME] tab > [Add v] button > "Add Income Reminder"
  4. Looking down at the bottom of the dialog click on "Paycheck setup wizard"

Choose (x) Gross amount > [Next] button

Company name: "myemployer" > [Next] button

Fill out the sections for your paycheck, adding a

[Add Pre-Tax Deductions] > Other Pre-Tax Deduction

1. Name: Broker - Traditional
  2. Category: replace the word "Salary" with the "[401k Account]" you set up, type but ignore the dialog that pops up > "[401k Account]/Traditional" and press enter, press [OK], ignore the [New Tag] dialog and press [Save]
  3. Amount: enter an amount if you like, press [OK]

[Add After-Tax Deductions] > Other After-Tax Deduction

1. Name: Broker - Roth
  2. Category: replace the blank field with the "[401k Account]" you set up, type but ignore the dialog that pops up > "[401k Account]/Roth" and press enter, press [OK], ignore the [New Tag] dialog and press [Save]
  3. Amount: enter an amount if you like, press [OK]

When a paycheck is "Action > Entered" from Bills&Income, "tagged" contributions will be placed into the same 401k account; you can tell from their tags their contribution type.

My Retirement Account does not track contributions separately until withdrawl, it lumps them into a ratio which adds up to 100 percent.

A report to find out the current contribution totals can be run from;

Reports > Banking > Transaction