Market Value Error

Jbalint1
Jbalint1 Member ✭✭

On my Schwab account, it is showing the market value almost double of what it should be. It is stating my cash as the same as my holdingsm thereby doubling the market value

Answers

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta

@Jbalint1 Did this just happen suddenly? Did you move from Windows to Mac? Did you move from a different brokerage to Schwab? Does your Portfolio show any money market fund holdings (such as SWVXX), which Schwab switched a few years ago to reporting as cash rather than as a security? When you look at your transactions, screen, does each "buy" transaction decrease the cash balance? More information will be useful in trying to offer you suggestions or advice.

Quicken Mac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • Jbalint1
    Jbalint1 Member ✭✭

I have been using Quicken Mac for several years. I just opened the Schwab account and made 1 stock purchase. And it says my market value is double of what it should be

• Jbalint1
    Jbalint1 Member ✭✭

The values are correct on my Schwab account but when I linked it to Quicken, the total market value is incorrect on Quicken. There are no previous transactions or accounts.

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

@Jbalint1 So which figure, that's used to calculate account balance, is incorrect? The number of shares/units in the account? The quote of those units? Or, are there securities shown at Schwab that don't show in Q?

OR, is it the Cash amount (as discussed by @jacobs ) that's incorrect?

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• Jbalint1
    Jbalint1 Member ✭✭

the cash amount is incorrect

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

OK, so how did the securities get into the account? Did you BUY them, which would use cash, or was the "Add Securities" action utilized, which doesn't use cash?