Quicken 2017: Investment, Reinvest, Cash Balance, etc.

Unknown
Unknown Member
edited October 2018 in Investing (Windows)
I wish to use Quicken 2017 primarily for recording stocks. My stocks are subscribed to the Dividend Reinvestment Plan, as such I receive a cash dividend payment that is automatically and immediately used to purchase more stock. If I have cash left over, which inevitably I do, the cash is held until next the dividend payment.

Since I am new to Quicken, I wish to start by setting it up correctly as I believe doing so will reward me later on down the line. How exactly do I correctly record this in Quicken? If I attempt to include the cash balance, that works, but then the reinvestment does not deduct from the cash balance... or I am able to make the reinvestment purchase deduct correctly but then the cash balance is not recorded.

Should I include the dividend payment and then just select the ordinary share purchase? Do I somehow need to create another account just to hold the cash values (if so how)? Please advise me the correct way to handle such transactions.

Thanks

Comments

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    My guess is that your stock holdings might be held at the issuing company, rather than at a brokerage ... but that doesn't matter.

To record a stock (or any other investment) holding in Q, you need to create an investment account and you need to add the particular stocks to Q's Security List (CTRL-Y).  When creating an account that's at the issuing company, just set it up as a manual account.  If they really are at a brokerage, then you can probably (at your option) set the account to download from the brokerage.

If the stocks are held at several issuing companies, you can still record them in Q as being in a single account.

Then, show the initial purchase transaction in the account and any ReinvDiv transactions. "Invest - Income Reinvested" is one of the standard "actions" in an investment account.