Upgrade added 100s transactions/erases loan payments

CTHERE
CTHERE Member ✭✭
I upgraded Quicken 2017 to the newest version 4.6.7 on a Mac with MacOS Sierra 10.12.6. Suddenly my checking balances were thousands of dollars different from my bank. On top of that, Wells Fargo stopped offering online connection without subscriptions, so I'm not downloading online transactions now. AND Quicken decided to reconfigure how Reconcile works so I could no longer use reconcile to see what was the problem. 

Quickens answer is to just take a balance adjustment and move on. This is not acceptable to me. I have been using Quicken since 1996 and have reconciled transactions in my accounts since then. I had 20 years of reconciled information. I never leave a transaction uncategorized... 

I have pulled my hair out since the upgrade last month. However, thanks to @Smayer97 for the answer that Quicken's balance is always based on transactions, I started searching my accounts and now have some more concrete information. 

Issues since I upgraded to the most recent version:
  • Quicken has added hundreds of uncategorized transactions called "balance adjustment" all the way back to 1996
  • Quicken has deleted the loan "transfers" for the principle on loans that were hidden, making all the principle payments Uncategorized
  • Quicken added ALL these transactions as reconciled, so I can't see what I did vs. what it did
  • Quicken has added duplicate check transactions with the payee name "Missing Name 1, Missing Name 3, etc." 
  • Quicken has deleted deposits from other bank accounts and instead of [Transfer] made them all uncategorized
Here's a sample:

So, my question is, what should I do? Go back through 20 years of transactions and try to remove them all? Unhide hidden accounts and retransfer? Try to go back to older versions? Abandon Quicken and try YNAB or Bankify? 

This is so awful. 
Thank you for any advice. 
Carla

Comments

• Michael Heady
    Michael Heady Member ✭✭