How to change category of online transfer

Unknown
Unknown Member
I'm using Quicken 2017 on Windows 10 PC. I've been using Quicken for many years and every month I have an automatic online fund transfer from a Chase checking account to a Chase savings account. I want the transfer to eventually be categorized as "Bills & Utilties: Property Tax Funds" instead of being categorized as a transfer from/to. Every month I now go into the Checking account and change the entry to the desired category. I then have to go to the Savings account to find that the transferred entry no longer exists. I then copy/paste the entry from the previous month, which is the same $ amount each month, and change the date to the current month. Is there an easier way to achieve the desired result?

Comments

• Arctic Hare
    Arctic Hare SuperUser ✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2018
    @Morgan: the process you are using is an improper use of Quicken that will cause issues with reports, etc. Transfers between bank accounts should be modelled as transfers between Quicken accounts. What are you actually trying to achieve? If you are trying to set aside money for a latter lump sum payment of property taxes then you might consider using the savings goal feature. The savings goal feature lets you "reserve" funds for a future use. I regularly use it to "set aside" funds to annual payment of property tax  or annual payment of insurance, etc.
  • Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited December 2018
    Thanks for the "Quick" response!