How do I categorize a transfer to an outside account?

Options
We transfer money to our children to their bank accounts and vice versa for different reasons. For example, we have a family phone plan, which we pay and they pay their portion to us. How do I categorize the transfer? I am new to Quicken and have searched but I have been unable to find the solution. We also transfer money to them for various reasons.

I thought maybe setting up an account for each of them would work, but it only increases my worth and that is not accurate. My only choices for a Category are accounts. I know I am missing something but not sure what it is. 

Thanks in advance for your help.

Comments

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    If the "other" account isn't recorded in your Q data file ... it isn't (at least according to Q) a "transfer".  It would be an expense.  Any reimbursement from them should be recorded to the same expense category ... to net out.

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• dgoudy
    dgoudy Member
    Options
    The problem is when I go to update the category, it only allows me to choose an 'account' either a credit card account that I have added or one of my bank accounts. I would love to give each of the kids a category but it will not allow me to choose those for this payee (transfer 'child name')
  • dgoudy
    dgoudy Member
    Options
    Although I was just playing around with it and renamed one of the transfers (a deposit) to 'childs name' and gave it the category I wanted. I was not sure if I could do this without screwing something up.

However, I am not sure what to do with the transfers to them.
  • Rocket J Squirrel
    Rocket J Squirrel SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options