Unable to connect & re-link to Principal Financial (edited to include topic)

mmeisler
mmeisler Member ✭✭
I have been tracking a 401k account for a few years. i recently realized it hadn't downloaded updates in several months. I went to the account and tried to download but all it would do was go to the Principal Financial webpage and so nothing - even if I was logged in. I tried to deactivate downloads and then reactivate them. But when I try to reactivate, it asks me to name the account. If I use the existing name, it doesn't work because it exists. But I don't want to use a new name because that will create a new account - which it is not. I have tried multiple ways to get to the activation option but all come up the same. Any ideas?
Tagged:

Comments

• Greg_the_Geek
    Greg_the_Geek SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    When you reactivate, you should have the option to LINK to the existing account.
    Quicken Subscription HBRP - Windows 10
  • mmeisler
    mmeisler Member ✭✭
    That's what I thought but the option to link is not there.
  • Quicken_Tyka
    Quicken_Tyka Alumni ✭✭✭✭
    Hello meisler,

Thank you for taking the time to come to the Community to post your issue.

Are you still experiencing this trouble with linking the account?

If so, please follow the steps outlined here.

Let me know how it goes!

Thank you,

-Quicken Tyka
    ~~~***~~~
  • mmeisler
    mmeisler Member ✭✭
    Still doesn't work Problem is that when I try to activate it, it wants me to name the account (within Quicken). If I type the account name that I am using it says I can't use that. There is no option to Link to an existing Quicken account.
  • UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Before trying to (re-)activate an account, was the account successfully deactivated first? You can't link to an account that Quicken thinks of as being activated.

To deactivate an Account

Go to Tools > Account List.
    Click Edit for the account you need to change.
    Click Online Services tab.