Complicated shared expenses with husband

I am not new to Quicken, but I am new to having to track shared expenses. My new husband and I have been sharing expenses for a year and a half now. He keeps a complicated spreadsheet record that does NOT transfer to Quicken. Sometimes he pays, sometimes I pay by check or credit card. I would like to have suggestions for setting up account(s) in quicken that shows what we spend overall and what I spend per category and a running total of what we each owe each other. Any ideas?
Thank you!
Tagged:

Comments

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2020
    Hi "@DianneKayV",

Since you have some experience with Quicken, you may be familiar with "Tags".  They give you the ability to Tag most transactions and then be able to view and sort those Tags in reports.

Here's an illustration of using tags in an account - where the initials of the person who incurred the expense are the "Tag":

Let me know if you have any questions.

Good luck!

Frankx

Quicken Home, Business & Rental Property - Windows 10-Home Version

- - - - Quicken User since 1984 - - - 
      -  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

• DianneKayV
    DianneKayV Member ✭✭
    Hello, "@Frankx"

Thanks for your suggestion, but if what I wanted to do were that simple, I would already have my problem solved. I have been using Quicken since 2006, so I am familiar with Tags, reports, etc.

I want to set up accounts that show the TOTAL shared expenses, who paid what, running balance of how much we each owe the other, and for me alone, what was the category of the expenditure. I knw that I will have to use one or more HIDDEN account in order for my husband's share NOT to be added to my spending charts. This also means that I would have to link the accounts via "transfers" so that updating one account would update the others.