Reconciliation Prior Balance shown is wrong and is different from the previous month's numbers

I have been using Quicken Deluxe for Windows for close to two years, and have been reconciling every month since then without any problems till now. I had successfully reconciled February, 2020, but for March, 2020, Quicken Reconcile an Account displays an INCORRECT PRIOR BALANCE number. I even RESTORED to my previous back up file, and still it shows the same wrong number. In either case, when I change the number to match February's correct number, Quicken just displays wrong number for CLEARED BALANCE. I am sorry because I know I am not able to express my problem clearly. I tried to call Quicken but looks like the tel number has been removed, may be for the time we are in. I can use your help, for sure.

Best Answer

• pkorisa
    pkorisa Member ✭✭
    Answer ✓
    I have solved my problem, I think, with the Reconciliation Prior Balance Issue.
    First, I had RESTORED my backup file from the just previously reconciled month-end backup (Feb.). I was getting ready to RECONCILE March. And, I always enter my transactions manually. I just happened to have created this back up file (I always do a backup when I open & close my Q). The problem didn't get fixed by doing this alone.
    So, I clicked on EACH "R" transaction for my Feb. reconciliation process, and made them "UNCLEARED." Then I started my reconciliation process with the FEBRUARY transactions again.

After finishing my February reconciliation, I started my March reconciliation. This time, the Q PRIOR BALANCE matched perfectly! PROBLEM RESOLVED.

I also did something for the first time. I opted to PRINT the RECONCILIATION REPORT at the end when prompted; in all these months, I never did that thinking I am good at this process and don't need this report.