Sales Tax

Hi, I am new to quicken software and I looking for some assistance on sale tax setup.
I have downloaded credit card expenses and I would like the expense to separate our sales taxes. What is the easiest way to set this up?

I have also moved these expenses from the credit card account to the business bills account hoping it would give the option to take the total and assume sales tax based on the total amount.

Even the sales tax account that I set up and pull tax report does not recognize this tax account for the report.

Other than manually inputting every expense over again through the business bill account, is there another option.

Thanks.
R

Comments

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    "I have downloaded credit card expenses and I would like the expense to separate our sales taxes. What is the easiest way to set this up?"
    You create a split entry for each transaction and pull out the sales tax on a separate line of the split with its own Category.  The downloaded amount simply comes as a single dollar amount to you, and you have to analyze how that lump sum number gets split up into Categories that you want to track.  So when my wife hands me the grocery store receipt she - hopefully - has noted how each line item on the receipt gets Categorized and I split that single dollar figure accordingly.  You'd simply do the same thing, memorizing that transaction so that the line items - Categories - are still there the next time you use that vendor.
    "I have also moved these expenses from the credit card account to the business bills account hoping it would give the option to take the total and assume sales tax based on the total amount."