Link Rent Due with deposit entry

I am new to Quicken, started with Home and Business version last month. I have populated Quicken with all 2020 transactions.

I set up a property record for each property (address and tag).

I set up tenant records for each tenant – tenant name, property tag and monthly rental details. (All tenants are long term and on month-to-month tenancy so no lease/rental details beyond monthly rent due.)

Tenants make rent payments via deposit into business bank account.

I import bank transactions throughout the month and categorize and tag.

Rent payments appear in account register with payee as Deposit. I set category for rental payments to Rents Received. Now these rent payments show up in the Rental register also but do not resolve the rent due for the property.

If I set the Payee to the tenant, the rent now increases by the amount of the deposit – so $500 for month rent now becomes $1,000.

Is there any way to link the rent due/debit and the deposit/credit for the tagged property without having to manually enter the rent payment for each unit and each tenant every month and then deleting the imported transaction to remove the duplicate credit?

A lot of manual work every month and seems not sustainable as the number of units owned increases …

Thanks for any insight ..

Liv
Tagged:

Best Answers

Answers

• Quicken_Tyka
    Quicken_Tyka Alumni ✭✭✭✭
    Hello @LivTheDream

Thank you for taking the time to visit the Community to report this issue, although I apologize that you have not received a response.

I have a few questions to help me better understand the issue, first how was this business account added?

First, was this account added under the Rental Property Tab under Account Overview?

Second, where are you seeing the rent increase? Is this in the account or the Rental Property tab?

Please let us know!
    -Quicken Tyka
    ~~~***~~~
  • LivTheDream
    LivTheDream Member ✭✭
    Hi, @Quicken_Tyka

Thanks so much commenting.