Tracking Investments in Quicken

I've been using Quicken for over 20 years, mainly for tracking bank accounts and credit card spending, but not really my investments. I recently decided that it would be good to track my investments in Quicken, so I set up downloads from my Vanguard accounts. The setup was rather more work than I had anticipated because the initial download grabbed the various investments in the accounts, but without also pulling in obvious information like cost basis and, for bonds, the CUSIP. Ok, so I entered all of that manually and thought I was good to go.

Unfortunately, I've found it to be a difficult slog. For example, I got some dividends, and it told me they were for an unidentified security. And there was some sort of merger or acquisition, and it showed numbers of shares that moved in and out, but again, for an unidentified security. And when the money market fund attached to the brokerage account paid a dividend, it showed it as a sale of the security, not as a dividend.

I'm at a point of giving up, and simply tracking things in an Excel spreadsheet, which won't be nearly as convenient of downloading things directly. Before I give up, I just want to check whether I'm doing something wrong, either in the way I set it up, or the way I'm using it. it's hard to believe that Quicken (or Vanguard?) can have gone this long with something so clunky, so I need to wonder first whether I'm responsible?
Tagged:

Answers

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Here are a couple of tips that will help prevent the sorts of problems you describe:

-- In Edit > Preferences > Investing Transactions, make sure Show Hidden Transactions is checked and Enable Simple investing is not checked.

-- In Edit > Preferences > Downloaded transactions, make sure Automatically add to Investment transaction lists is not checked. In Compare Account portfolio after download, make sure your investing accounts are checked.