All Quicken functions extremely slow!

sparkoff
sparkoff Member ✭✭
I've perused the board and don't see anyone with this exact problem, but if I missed it please point me to the thread.

EVERYTHING I do on Quicken is slow. I've been using Q for 20 years and I've never had problems like this:
- Changing from one account to another takes 5+ seconds...
- entering a new transaction takes 5+ seconds,
- opening an investment register takes 10-20 seconds
- entering an investment transaction takes 10+ seconds
- opening Reports and Graph Center takes 15 seconds
- opening a canned report takes 15 seconds
etc etc. (not to mention one step updates taking minutes)
All of these result in a "spinning wheel" for a few seconds and/or the window flashing/shifting and looking weird until it resolves.

I have the latest version. I'm running Windows 10 Home on an HP with 24 GB RAM, AMD 2.1GHz processor, 64 bit. Computer memory and processing status looks normal when I run Task Manager.

My Quicken file is about 240 MB. I've read on the boards that other folks have files much larger than this and aren't complaining about this problem.

Here's what I've tried:
- file ops - validation (only minor stuff found)
- file ops - super validation
- deleting old accounts
- copying my Quicken file (to remove the old account/transaction database entries) and using the copy
- Disconnecting from mobile/web sync
- Disconnecting from the internet
- running virus scans and malware checks. Even bought a new copy of System Mechanic to run system checks. Minor stuff corrected. No registry problems. No infections.
- Wiped my Windows 10 OS and reset to factory

Any help is appreciated.

Best Answer

Answers

• Quicken_Tyka
    Quicken_Tyka Alumni ✭✭✭✭
    Hello @sparkoff

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience and feedback with the Community, although I apologize that you have not yet received a response.

We'll need a bit more information to be able to assist.