Bought transactions are not reducing the cash amt

I've been using Quicken for many years and this is a new issue that just started happening. Recently, when I record a Bought transaction, it is showing the cash amount as n/a. I'm recording the same way I always have. The transaction is "Buy-Shares Bought" and I'm entering the total cost. Has anyone else encountered this issue and found a solution?

Best Answer

Answers

• WCK
    WCK Member ✭✭
    It seems to have something to do with the new securities I added. When I add an old security, it is working fine.
  • Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @WCK,

Is it just this one account or is it happening in more than one?  This may have something to do with placeholders. To find out:
    1) Go to "Edit" > "Preferences" > "Investment Transactions";
    2) The "Show hidden transactions" box should be checked.  If is wasn't check it and click "OK".

Then go back to the account register and you should see additional activity.  If you do and you can't figure it out, post back about what you are seeing and we'll go from there.

Frankx

Quicken Home, Business & Rental Property - Windows 10-Home Version

- - - - Quicken User since 1984 - - - 
      -  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

• WCK
    WCK Member ✭✭
    Hi Frank,

By doing this, it added another line entered by Quicken to "balance" the cash. However, the cash balance is still not being reduced. I tried entering as boughtx and selecting the cash in this account. It still isn't reducing cash. It is just in one account.
  • Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2021 Answer ✓
    This situation is often caused by having one or more Placeholders in the account for the affected security. If you have not already, please go to Edit > Preferences > Investment transactions and make sure Show hidden transactions is checked.