Subscription Model

patwal
patwal Unconfirmed, Member
Hello,
I'm a 20 year quicken user, but I'm new to the Mac subscription model. I don't use all the bells and whistles on quicken, but I do value the ability to download from financial institutions. Can you tell me the most cost effective way to maintain this functionality? Thanks.

Best Answer

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Answer ✓
    Yes, reports are one of the areas where the program has made considerable progress since Quicken 2017. I wasn't willing to switch from Quicken 2007 until last year, and one of the things that changed to allow me to move forward was the improvement in reports.

That's not to say that reports now have all the features, bells and whistles that users want. Reports on investments aren't as robust as many investment-oriented Quicken users would like. Subtotals still appear on top of, rather than below, the data they summarize (which drives me nuts but doesn't bother others). There isn't complete control over specifying multiple levels of subtotals/sorting. (And there are more issues, which I won't try to detail here, which are hopefully on the roadmap for improvement over time). But for me and a vast majority of Quicken Mac users, reports are now capable enough to do the work we need. Some things are simply different than Quicken 2007, but different doesn't necessarily mean worse. For instance, the much-beloved Quick Reports don't exist as they did in Quicken 2007, but you can easily do most of the same reports through either Search or "Report on…" features.

Depending what reports you used, you may find the current reports meet your needs, or you may find stumbling blocks. Which brings it back around to giving it a try to see how well it works for your needs.
    Quicken Mac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993

Answers

• jacobs