Why? After doing an update to my MacBook Air Operating system Quicken stops working!

jtifft
jtifft Member
I have been using Quicken for many years, now on a MAC. I install the program and it works fine, then I get an update to the operating system from Apple, when I next try Quicken it loads ok? I think? but will not run. I have this every Mac update, when I reinstall Quicken it works for a while then stops.

Answers

• lernerfilm
    lernerfilm Member
    my powermac required an OS update and nowQuicken essentials which i have been running since 2013 no longer opens. what should i do
  • jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    @lernerfilm Quicken Essentials has been discontinued software for about 5 years. It will not run on any Mac operating system beyond El Capitan (10.11). You will either need to revert to your previous operating system or upgrade to Quicken Mac. The current Quicken Mac was developed from the core code and interface of Essentials, and while there have been a lot of enhancements and changes over the years, you will find it similar to what you're used to.

@jtifft It would help to know what version of macOS you were using, what version you updated to, and what version of Quicken you are now using. Assuming we're talking about the modern version of Quicken Mac, I have never experienced a Mac update requiring a re-installation of Quicken Mac.
    Quicken Mac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • jtifft
    jtifft Member