Categorize Bank Accounts by name?

I'm new to the online version of Quicken. Had the old version from quite a few years ago, but you can't purchase a stand-alone version anymore. So I "upgraded". I would like to know how to categorize all of the Accounts by the institution. I have Bank of America and TD accounts. For each one, I have Checking, Savings, and Credit Card accounts. I tried editing/renaming each account so all the names for ones from Bank of America began with "BoA", and for TD, "TD". But what it's doing is sorting alphabetically by name properly for all the Checking and Savings accounts, but then it's adding both credit cards down at the bottom. I'd like to somehow group all the BoA accounts separate from all the TD accounts, regardless of what kind of account they are. I've searched to try and find the answer but I don't see it anywhere. Does anyone know how to do this?

Thanks in advance.
Tagged:

Best Answer

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    JimS_61 said:
    > @UKR said:
    > Are you Syncing to Mobile/Web?
    >
    > AND do you use the Mobile app on your smartphone or the Quicken on the Web
    > feature?
    >
    > If you answer
    > "no" to both, turn Sync off completely. You don't need it. The Sync
    > process should only be used in conjunction with the Quicken app for Smartphones
    > or the Quicken on the Web browser app. It cannot be used as a replacement for
    > backing up and restoring your Quicken data file.

My answer is "no". So really all I need to do is open the local copy on my laptop and download my transactions from my accounts and that should give me everything I want/need. Correct?