How to mitigate very poor responsiveness and performance on the program.

TheGolux
TheGolux Member ✭✭
edited September 2022 in Investing (Windows)
I have been a loyal Quicken user for over 20 years.

In recent years and more in recent months, the performance and responsiveness of Quicken on Windows (I have a Premier subscription) has degraded to a point where it is borderline unusable. I have a blazingly fast computer - 4Ghz 8 core CPU with 64 Gig of RAM.

After a long conversation with a phone support technician at Quicken today, he suggested I write in this forum to get perspectives. His opinion is that the likely culprit is likely a very very large quicken file that has grown over decades. But the overwhelming majority of my Quicken Data File is made up of Investment accounts and transactions, which cannot currently be archived because there would be a loss of fidelity on gains and losses.

I have over a dozen investment accounts currently and probably twice that many now closed (but with the transactions still part of the quicken file).

When I open quicken to the home screen and wait for everything to paint, and then click on one of my more complex investment accounts in the Account List, it might take as much as 20 seconds for Quicken to render that register. Adding a transaction to that register takes PAINFULLY long.

I get that complex files may be difficult and take a lot of processing power to process. But I also feel that Quicken has not provided users like me with the tools that might simplify these files.