Entering investment dividends (Q Mac)

TJennings
TJennings Member ✭✭
edited May 2022 in Investing (Mac)
Simple question. I just need the answer, please. Please don't 'splain what I should and shouldn't know. I'm an experienced bookkeeper. The investing stuff (specifically capital gains) was not my strong suit in my accounting classes way back when (classes I otherwise aced).
-------------------
I get a monthly statement from my brokerage. I need to enter transactions manually, since I can't get it to download. That's fine. No biggie. I don't have THAT many investments.

When I get dividend income, it's paid into a cash/money market/sweep account. In Quicken, the MM account is created under the Savings category, separate from the Investing category. Makes sense. But, the investment subcategories are not available in the Savings category. So, I can't choose Type >> Income: Dividend AND choose the MM account for Transfer: MM.

QUESTION: So, how do I book this transaction? Do I book the tx going into the brokerage account so I can do Type >>Income: Dividend, then do a separate entry moving it out to the MM account? Is there a better way?

Best Answer

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Answer ✓
    If you keep the money market account as a savings account, you need to record the Dividend in the investment account, and then do an additional transaction with the type Payment/Deposit to transfer the cash from the investment account to the savings account. 

Alternatively, as was explained above, you could choose to not have a separate savings account, and instead represent the cash in your investment account by having a security for the money market funds. In that case, you'd enter the dividend transaction, and then enter a Buy transaction for the money market security.

Hope that's brief enough for you. ;)
    Quicken Mac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993

Answers

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭