How to Enter Non-Elective 401(k) Contribution

I'm a little new to tracking my 401(k) in Quicken. What's the best way to record non-elective employer contributions?
Tagged:

Best Answer

• Sherlock
    Sherlock Member ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Assuming this is a contribution to traditional 401(k), I suggest entering a Deposit transaction directly in the 401(k) account: open the 401(k), press Ctrl + N, and select Deposit in the Enter transaction: pull-down menu.  You may use the built-in _401EmployerContrib category or create your own.

Answers

• Sherlock
    Sherlock Member ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Assuming this is a contribution to traditional 401(k), I suggest entering a Deposit transaction directly in the 401(k) account: open the 401(k), press Ctrl + N, and select Deposit in the Enter transaction: pull-down menu.  You may use the built-in _401EmployerContrib category or create your own.

• Jaz Egg
    Jaz Egg Member
    Another question about 401(k) transactions. My quarterly statements have a gain/loss line; how would I record this?
  • Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    There is no need to enter the gain/loss. It is included in the transactions you have already entered and the closing balance.
    QWin Premier subscription
  • volvogirl
    volvogirl SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    You shouldn't need to enter the gain/loss from the statement if you are entering each security buys and sells and dividends, etc.  and the ticker symbol.  Then the net value comes from the current price x number of shares.

If you don't track it as actual stock or funds I just enter mine at a $1 price and number of shares for the value and add a Reinvested Dividend for the gain.  

I'm staying on Quicken 2013 Premier for Windows.

• Jaz Egg
    Jaz Egg Member
    Sorry, I'm still a little confused. My statement doesn't have a lot of information. My goal is to get my statements to match my account balance.
  • Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2021