"Payment Accepted, Amount Reduced" on Citibank payment

So I have another strange experience to report.  Today I had a Citibank credit card payment due, and I'd set the payment up to pay the entire balance due with Quick Pay.  I've been doing this for many months now.

Today I got an email from Quicken titled "Payment Accepted, Amount Reduced" which says that the payment amount was rejected by the biller website and that they were only able to pay $35 (minimum payment.)  What the heck?

I logged onto Citibank's website and was easily able to pay the remaining balance, but if I hadn't noticed that email until tomorrow or something, I'd have been hit with interest charges on the unpaid balance.

Quicken's email says "For more information about why your payment was reduced, contact your biller" which I did, and they have no idea either.  Do I now have to worry that Quicken will randomly reduce the bill pay payment amount like this?  Why would this happen?
Tagged:

Answers

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'd advise calling Quicken
    They are open for the next hour and five minutes

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Is there any chance you had a credit (refund) posted to your account between the time you set up the Quick Pay payment and the time it processed? That is, your statement balance was $1,000 but you received a $50 credit, making your balance $950; then when Bill Pay tried to submit a $1,000 payment, Citi rejected it because it was more than the orubtanding balance. Just a shot in the dark…
    Quicken Mac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • Dave in SF
    Dave in SF Member ✭✭✭
    jacobs said: