Perpetual Balance Adjustments

Wizeguy400
Wizeguy400 Member ✭✭
I have been using Quicken since 2003 on an old Apple computer and eventually transferring to Windows. Every so often, for no obvious reason, when I’ve reconciled my checking account, I get a Balance adjustment error, which I apply. But it appears that these Balance Adjustments never end, but rather accumulate over time. Is there someway to end this situation permanently?

Answers

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Balance adjustments happen when your account isn't truly reconciled.  There's a transaction missing,  deleted, duplicated, recorded incorrectly or otherwise wrong.
    The only way to end this cycle is to go back to when your account was correctly reconciled (Q amount and date equaled a statement amount and date), UN-reconcile everything after that point and re-reconcile month by month until you find and correct the errors.
    NOTE that deleting one side of a transfer transaction will delete BOTH sides of the transaction.
    Also note that manually changing a transactions CLR value will also result in an incorrect reconciliation.

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• Wizeguy400
    Wizeguy400 Member ✭✭