I can't update my accounts and get a blank window over the updating one. Now I have lost everything!

Kneecap
Kneecap Member ✭✭
edited September 2022 in Installing and Updating (Mac)
Who do I contact? I have been using the Mac OS 10.13.6 version of Quicken subscription for years. Today, when I tried to update the accounts, I got a larger white window that was mostly blank, but had "Cancel" on the bottom. I was told to uninstall the app, and then reinstall, by the customer service chat. I panicked, just thinking about it, but was assured I would not loose my data. However, when I tray to install the latest version of Quicken, it did the same thing, opening a large white window. PLUS, I have lost access to ALL my data and cannot go backwards. They would not give me a link for one version back to try. I don't want to upgrade because I am a retired graphic designer, and I will loose the ability to use my Adobe Creative Suite 5.5, and cannot affair the $60 a month to use the apps. Does anyone have suggestions?

Answers

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    @Kneecap First, you haven't lost anything as long as you still have your Quicken data file. There's just a puzzle to figure out to get your Quicken back up and running. So take a deep breath… and let's calmly try some things.

First, the current version of Quicken Mac does still run on macOS High Sierra. Quicken Support will tell you the official policy that Quicken requires the current of two most recent operating systems, but the fact is that while there are some new features which require macOS Catalina or higher, the program still runs under Mojave and High Sierra. (You might consider updating your macOS to Mojave, which will still run your 32-bit Adobe apps. I have a computer I still have on Mojave just to keep running my Adobe CS 6.0 software — and it runs Quicken fine.)

Second, here is a link for prior subscription versions of Quicken Mac: