How do I re-convert a QDF file?

Jonnn
Jonnn Member
I have been running Quicken 2000 for years, but my 2006 Lenovo Thinkpad is dying slowly. My wife bought me a new HP Laptop, but without a CD drive, I can't install it.
The folks at Quicken installed Quicken 2014 onto my Lenovo and we imported the file into Q2014, then saved the QDF file there. Then I downloaded Quicken Deluxe onto the new HP. Then by thumb drive we imported the Q2014 onto the new program on the HP.
I don't like the new Quicken Deluxe, but my working QDF loads and appears.
I bought an external CD reader/writer and will go to SAFE MODE and install Q2000 on this new computer sometime over the weekend.
How do I convert the new QDF file back to a file Quicken 2000 Basic can read?

Best Answer

• q_lurker
    q_lurker SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    QW2000 would not open a QDF file used by QW2004, so it appears likely you have really been running QW2004. With the program running, Help / About Quicken should clarify what program is on your older computer. Not real critical but nice to know. 

C:\WINDOWS\QUICKENW\BACKUP\BACKUP 
    The …/BACKUP folders are created to hold automatic backups. This folder you cite indicates at one time your folder for your main data file was C:\WINDOWS\QUICKENW and the C:\WINDOWS\QUICKENW/BACKUP folder was created. 
    At some point you likely restored a QDF file in that backup folder and the C:\WINDOWS\QUICKENW\BACKUP\BACKUP folder was then created. You can access that folder structure with Windows to clarify when those key events might have happened, if you are interested. 

In that time period there were several files maintained by the program. Conventional wisdom has been to keep all those related files together when moving data around. 

Answers

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 2022