Cut and Paste Transactions

I’ve been using Quicken for 20 years. Recently I spent many frustrating days/weeks trying to track down solutions to multiple problems and issues.
I’ve given up and am starting from scratch with a blank Quicken account.
I’ve added my checking, credit card and investments accounts realizing I’d lose transaction history prior to the last 90 days or so.
I’d like to transfer transactions going back to the beginning of this year from our previous account to our fresh account. I’ve followed Quicken help and online directions to do this but have not been successful.
I am able to copy and paste transactions within either account but not from one to the other.
Can anyone offer suggestions on what I might be doing wrong and how to fix it?
I am using Quicken Deluxe version R47.11 on Windows 11.
Thanks

Answers

• splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Maybe this FAQ will help: FAQ - Moving Transactions

-splasher using Q continuously since 1996
    - Subscription Quicken - Win11 and QW2013 - Win11
    -Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• q_lurker
    q_lurker SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    I’d like to transfer transactions going back to the beginning of this year from our previous account to our fresh account. I’ve followed Quicken help and online directions to do this but have not been successful. 
    I am able to copy and paste transactions within either account but not from one to the other.

I think every time you used the word “account” in those paragraphs, you meant “file”.  Transferring between accounts in within one file is relatively easy. Transferring between two separate files is relatively difficult and usually involves QIF exporting and importing. 

If you can confirm, you can possibly get better instructions. 

• Faithy T
    Faithy T Member
    Thanks, you're correct. I have two Quicken data files and want to cut and paste transactions from one to the other.
  • DebbieJK
    DebbieJK Member ✭✭
    > @Faithy T said: