Can no longer "Recategorize" transactions within the "Itemized Category Report"

drjosy610
drjosy610 Member ✭✭
Here's the issue..., when you are in the Itemized Category Report, and you highlight the line item(s) whose category (categories) you want to change, you right click, then there is a pop up to "Recategorize transaction(s)". When you select this and choose OK, nothing happens.

I know I can go into the register and change the category of each transaction individually, but that is both a hassle and very time consuming.

I have been using this very same feature every year for many years (around tax time) and never had a problem. For the last few months, it no longer works. I spoke with 2 Tech Support people today, but they apparently have very limited knowledge of the software, and when you get specific with them, incredibly, "the server is down", and they can't help you.

I've seen other people complain about this same issue, and there are still no solutions.

This is a very important feature and convenience for Quicken users (especially around tax time). C'mon Quicken, let's get a solution already.

(and yes, I've both "Validated and Repaired" and I also "updated" through my online Quicken account today 03/19/23.

I'm currently using:
Quicken Deluxe for Windows
Version R48.9
Build 27.1.48.9

Anybody? Anybody? Bueller?

Comments

• mshiggins
    mshiggins SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

I have definitely seen other reports of the recategorization not working.

Curious, though, why do your transactions need to be recategorized? Is your renaming rules and memorized transactions not correctly the first time?

Quicken user since Q1999. Currently using QW2017.
    Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• drjosy610
    drjosy610 Member ✭✭
    I usually end up recatagorizing transactions that show as "uncatagorized income" or "uncatagorized expenses" at the end of the year. I also use it to change certain categories so they are more accurate for tax reporting.