Report or query on the memo field

frank6
frank6 Member ✭✭✭
I have been using the Mac version exclusively for about 4 years now.  Since this time I have not been able to find a purchase on a credit card that is recorded in the memo field.  I know I have done this in the windows version.

I have bought items over the years and with larger ticket items I put the description of the item in the memo field.  How do I find that item?  I know that I can click at the top left under "all transactions" and do the search there.  But the problem is over the years I have had many credit cards and they are now hidden so it won't show this way.

Comments

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    There are two approaches to finding things like this in Quicken. One is the Search box at the top left of your registers. Clicking Al Transactions in the left sidebar, making sure you have made the Memo/Notes field visible in this Group register, and then using Search to find specific text in a memo field can be a quick way to find things. But you have identified a key shortcoming: Search does not (yet!) offer a way to search in hidden accounts.

Which means you must move on to the other approach: building a Report. Go to New Report on the Reports menu. Select Transaction. Give your report a name like "Refrigerator" or whatever you're looking for, and select Categories for rows. Click Create Report. (Yes, this is stupidly out of order, because you still haven't specified all of what you want.) After it creates the report, click on Customize.

Now here comes the key: in the Customize panel, there's a checkbox at the bottom to "Include accounts hidden from reports" which you want to check: