Why do income and expenses add together in a budget

I have a subscription so I am using the newest version of Premiere for Windows. For the first time, I have added income to my budget. After creating the budget, I see the expenses and income add together for the totals. Shouldn't the totals be the difference between expenses and income? If I have $10,000 in income and $5,000 in expenses, my total should be plus $5,000, not $15,000. Is this a problem Quicken is aware of or am I wrong in my premise which I don't think I am? I would appreciate any help I can get.

Mike Lewis

Answers

• Sherlock
    Sherlock Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2020
    The budgeted expense should be subtracted from the budgeted income in the budget total.  
    The actual expense should subtracted from the actual income in the actual total.  
    The expense balance should be added to the income balance in the balance total.

I suspect you're looking at balance.

Note: Expense balance should be actual expense subtracted from budgeted expense.  Income balance should be budgeted income subtracted from actual income.
  • NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Do you have the proper Tax categories assigned to each income category?  Do you have tax categories assigned, as appropriate, to expense categories?
    It's via the tax lines that Q determines what's income and what's expense ... and NO tax line equals an expense.

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• Sherlock,