How to report bugs related to option transactions?

Options
New2
New2 Member
Hi,

I'm new to Quicken (Windows) and wanted to use it to tract transactions in all my investment accounts. I read online that Quicken's treatment of options is lacking. But the errors I saw seem to point to some simple bugs in Quicken's processing of option transactions as if the software has never been tested.

I know various brokerage firms may report option transactions differently and sometimes confusingly, which could cause problem. However, in my case, the option transactions downloaded from my brokerage accounts are correct (I verified by going into each one and confirm the details), but the Share Bal column shows wrong numbers. This leads to Quicken to create a bunch of confusing placeholders asking me to reconcile the differences.

The attached image shows what I am talking about. Note that there were no previously established positions in those two options. So Share Bal should show -100 and -300, respectively. Instead, I got -99 and -296. Because one option contract is 100 shares of the underlying security, these numbers are incorrect regardless if there were existing positions. The second image shows that buying option can also lead to wrong Share Bal number and the error is more bizarre. The puzzling part is that the error occur for most of my option transactions but NOT all. This problem happens for at least the two brokerage firms I use.

My questions to the community are:

1) Has anyone seen similar errors? If so, how long has this error been with Quicken?
2) How to report the bug to Quicken, or reach their technical support?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Tagged:

Answers

• Quicken Anja
    Quicken Anja Moderator mod
    Options
    Hello @New2,

Thank you for reaching out to the Community to tell us about your issue, though I apologize that you are experiencing this.