Merrill Lynch - OFX 16503 (QMAC)

Options
124»

Answers

• Nobody special
    Nobody special Member, Mac Beta Beta
    Options

You are referring to a huge bank, lol. BofA has 200,000 employees. BofA is very siloed. I now know the Technical Operations Manager and the Software Development Manager. I told them I would be happy to work on their team on an internal transfer. Of course, this isn't only for quicken. It is data distribution.

Me, as a long time developer and architect, distributing financial market data, and most recently anti-money laundering, KYC (WLF and CDD), and real time fraud, the text you get when your card is declined or venmo or wires. I know something about software. I am a AWS Solution Architect. Let's get real and not think we can yell and some huge organization is going to fix such a tiny issue. They didn't even know. They added missing monitoring. Its a tough life.

I have an interesting issue to share. When you download your dividends and you have automatic reinvestment with Merrill Lynch, you get three transactions, the dividend payment, a withdrawal to buy the shares (a cash reduction only), and an Add Shares transaction. That doesn't seem right! Fidelity does it in one transaction. I spoke to the team. This is legacy and how Merrill Lynch built this 30 years ago. Seriously. That will not be fixed any time soon.

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

@Nobody special I probably should have worded this differently:

I don't think anyone thought they could fix it, but they thought that these people should have been able to forward the request to fix it to people like you that do know how to fix such things. That might be pretty naive. 😉

I'm not one of these naive people. 🤣