Reconcile problem

Options
DOMINIC 24
DOMINIC 24 Member

Hi there, I'm new with Quicken, but I see that transactions reconciliated are not blocked. At anytime, you can modify, cancel any conciliated transaction!! Am I alone to see that like a real bug? Reconciliate option must secure all transcations of a period, to avoid any modifiaction or cancellation error, right? Thanks for your help !

Tagged:

Answers

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Quicken lets you shoot yourself in the foot, in this regard. What's more nothing is "locked down" this isn't an accounting program that will have audit trails and systems for preventing the changing of the history.

About all you have in that regard is these preferences:

Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • DOMINIC 24
    DOMINIC 24 Member
    Options

Many thanks Chris for your comment - Your tips is also very good!!

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Someone mentioned something in another thread that I had forgot about and that is you can set a "Transaction password", that should block changing transaction before a certain date.

File → Set Password for modifying transactions…

See this thread, where the behavior of it changed some time recently, but it will still block the first attempt per session:

Signature:
  • JoelC
    JoelC Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited January 28
    Options

@Chris_QPW , appreciate you sharing, I have learnt something new.

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Suggestion to Quicken:

Apply the same safeguards/notifications against changing reconciled transactions to let us know when Quicken changes a reconciled Opening Balance transaction!

QWin Premier subscription
  • JoelC
    JoelC Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

@Jim_Harman but why ever change the reconciled Opening Balance, there should never be a need to do so.

• DOMINIC 24
    DOMINIC 24 Member
    Options