Help needed in setting up an IRA acct -

Options

I've been using Quicken Classic Deluxe for 100 years. LOVE it for tracking and downloading my bank and credit card transactions. However I have spend endless hours trying to set up an acct. for my IRA - to include Core Cash, brokerage CDs, and equities. I have read so many questions and answers on this site as to how to do this, but I only know enough to be dangerous. I'm hoping someone can help or tell me where to go to find in depth (easy to understand) instructions? I'm a little OCD and I don't want to give up, but saying i'm frustrated is an understatement. I will be so appreciative of any help I can get - Where do I start?

Thank you!!! LisaO

I am using Quicken Classic Deluxe,

Version R54.16

Windows 11

Best Answers

• QuickUserPSP
    QuickUserPSP Member, Windows Beta Beta
    Answer ✓
    Options

@Lisa Odom - please see the link below. It is a useful "how to" that has some specific information on IRAs. I think it would be a good place to start.

https://help.quicken.com/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=3216290

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

Boy, without knowing any of the details behind the question "how do I set up an IRA Account" it's difficult to know where to start and what level of detail is needed.

At its simplest, you can create the Account as a manual Account, tell Quicken what securities and the number of shares or each are in the Account as of "today", enter a gross cost basis for all the shares (assuming you know that), enter any cash in the Account as of "today", and your Account is established with valid data. It won't have "lot" information, it won't have "holding period" information, but it's a perfectly good starting point.