Maturing Quicken user - Separate a subset of registers.

Options
fggates
fggates Windows Beta Beta
edited March 12 in Product Enhancements

I have been tracking my family finances in Quicken for 26 years. It's a big file. Now, my daughter is about to graduate from college and set off on her own as a new Quicken user. Until now her various accounts have been tracked within the family QDF but soon it will be more appropriate for her to track her own stuff independently.

I would like to be able to easily create a new all-time QDF with just her accounts. Some sort of tool or behavior where I can choose the N (of M) registers which are hers and create a new PDF complete with all the transactions in and between those N registers intact, including lot identification in the investment registers and the various categories, tags, notes etc in all registers.

I know some transfers in/out to registers (M-N) left behind in my family QDF will need special handling, but I would be happy to substitute one side of an inter-register transfer with something as simple as a new category of 'Parents'.

Ultimately, the goal is to handover a QDF with all her records and none/few of mine so she can be an independent Quicken user for the rest of her or Quicken's existence.

I have tried taking a copy of my QDF and brutalizing it by deleting registers, renaming transfers, etc but it gets very laborious. It seems a built-in easy method would have value to many users, and for the many snapshots taken before the final split.

There must be many similar QDF divide needs (divorces, transfer to trusts, maturing kids) and also some QDF merge needs too (Marriage, inheritances).

I have no idea if this makes sense to the internal record keeping, but supporting cut/paste/copy of registers between two open instances of Quicken would work too.

Thank you.

2 votes

Reviewed · Last Updated

Comments

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options