Growing file size (Q Mac)

Options
magoodm
magoodm Member ✭✭✭

I've been posting about this for several years. My working file size is now 361mb with a backup size of 120mb. It grew by 5mb over the weekend after entering, at most, a dozen simple items consisting of bank and credit card transactions. My data goes back to 1989 with 97,000 transactions and zero attachments. Looking at package contents, 355mb is data. Any ideas about what might be going on?

Comments

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options

@magoodm Hmm, that does seem odd. For a data point of comparison, I have a file going back about the same amount of time, with about 72,000 transactions, and my data file size is 95 MB (of which 90 MB is the 'data' component.

The only thing I can think of where my data might be light compared to others of a similar age is in the table which holds security prices, as I seem to have fewer securities than some other users, and I update accounts and pull in security prices only a few times a week. But I can't imagine the security prices take up a huge amount of space in the database — certainly not enough to explain why yours is 3.5 times larger than mine.

My backup file size is currently 34 MB, and it was 32 MB one year ago, so my actual data file size has increased about 6 MB over an entire year.

I don't have an explanation for the file size differences you and I are seeing. You've ruled out the most typical source of file size bloat: attachments. Maybe some of the other longtime Quicken Mac folks here might have thoughts about this.