terribly slow

DaveFry
DaveFry Member ✭✭

I have been using Quicken for about 25 years and had no problems until the past few months. Now, it is so incredibly slow I'm about ready to give it up and find another product. I have a large file. It is currently 3,000,000kb in size. I ran the year end copy which was supposed to make it smaller and it had only a tiny effect. It recalculates my investment prices and portfolio values after every entry and that can take 4-5 minutes, or even longer sometimes. Support didn't really offer any practical suggestions.

Anybody have any thoughts?

Tagged:

Answers

• splasher
    splasher Quicken Windows Subscription SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

3GB data file?? Do you have a large amount of attachments in your data file? Are you a day trader with a large number of investment transactions?

-splasher using Q continuously since 1996
    - Subscription Quicken - Win11 and QW2013 - Win11
    -Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• UKR
    UKR Quicken Windows Subscription SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

For more information about the size of your data file please do this:
    Click Help in the Menu Bar. Shift+click About Quicken and it'll give you a File
    Information box. Please capture an image snapshot of this File Information box
    and attach it here.
    The Windows Snipping Tool can be used to capture a partial screen image and
    save it to a file of file type PNG, JPG, or GIF only.

To attach the image here please review

• DaveFry
    DaveFry Member ✭✭

I just ran the validate file (you suggested in May by I just saw that) - it took 3 hours. It found several minor problems, lists my securities at 10142 which is max. The program info shows:

I'll try the super validate if this hasn't helped later today

• miklk
    miklk Quicken Windows Subscription SuperUser, Windows Beta Beta