How do I permanently delete Report history

Options
Ranger
Ranger Member ✭✭

I follow the instructions for reports I previously created to delete them. After I hit the DELETE, the report description and date in the History list is eliminated. However, if I do a repeat of the report I just deleted the History for, the reports reappear as though they were not deleted. How do I permanently delete history for a report I previously created? My file is growing with old reports I previously created and I would like to get rid of them. Thank You!!

John B.

Answers

  • Quicken Jasmine
    Quicken Jasmine Moderator mod
    Options

    Hello @Ranger,

    To start with, I suggest that you please try validating and/or super validating your data file. However, I do recommend that you first save a backup file prior to performing these steps.

    Validate: 

    1. File
    2. Validate and Repair File...
    3. Validate File
    4. Click OK
    5. Close the Data Log
    6. Close Quicken (leave it closed for at least 5 secs)
    7. Reopen Quicken and see if the issue persists.

    If the issue persists, proceed to Super Validate. If the issue is resolved after performing validation, then please disregard the instructions to Super Validate.

    Super Validate:

    1. File
    2. Hold CTRL + Shift and click Validate and Repair File...
    3. Super Validate File
    4. Click OK
    5. Close the Data Log
    6. Close Quicken (leave it closed for at least 5 secs)
    7. Reopen Quicken and see if the issue persists.

    I hope this helps!

    -Quicken Jasmine

    Make sure to sign up for the email digest to see a round-up of your top posts.

  • UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

    The process of Saving a report only saves the report's customization settings like selected columns, date range, etc. It does NOT save the report data as generated. For that to happen, you'd have to save the report in a PDF file outside of Quicken.
    Whenever you run a report, the data shown in the report is taken from the transactions as they exist in your data file at this moment. If you changed, added or deleted transactions within the report's selection range and rerun a Saved Report, the results will NOT be the same as they were when you originally ran and saved the report some weeks or months ago.

  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

    @UKR I think you misunderstood the question. If you pull up a report, and then change its time frame, you will have two reports. You can use the back and forward buttons to switch between them. This is the "Report History".

    One should be able to delete these individual instances of the same report. The buttons below are for that purpose.

    Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • Ranger
    Ranger Member ✭✭
    Options

    I totally agree, one should be able to delete individual instances of the same report. As I hit the trash can to delete, the item disappears only to reappear again when the report is referenced again. That is my problem. Thanks for clarifying my initial question.

  • Ranger
    Ranger Member ✭✭
    Options

    Jasmine, UKR and Chris,

    First of all I want to sincerely thank you for your assistance to help me resolve my attempt to delete old reports from the report history. I also must apologize for not responding sooner. I have been trying to resolve my deletion concern.

    I followed your suggestion about running a Validate File. The only exceptions I received are a few dividend records before their payment date. I then closed my file and closed the Quicken file. I left it off for about a minute to insure time for any changes to be made and then opened Quicken again. The old reports I previously referred to were still there and I followed the deletion instructions. When I did this, I saw the old reports deleted disappeared. I then closed the file and reopened it again to see if the deletion was permanent. The results were the same as before and all the previously deleted reappeared in the report history area.

    I tried some other thoughts and read the deletion information in the Quicken information files. I am still working on resolving the issue.

    Thanks again to all of you guys for your input.