Data Loss After Updates

Quicken,

Quicken continues to consistently lose data with every update (and the updates are so frequent that this often happens multiple times per month now). Quicken apparently can't handle the backup path that it selected on install, so the automatic backups just quietly fail, and even my own carefully created manual backups (and I back up all the @#$%^ time now, given Quicken's incredible fragility) frequently fail to restore hours of lost work. The fragility of Quicken for Windows has becoming absurd. Is there any hope that this will ever be fixed? Is the Windows version being neglected in favor of the online version (which I have been loathe to use, for obvious security reasons - reasons that are obvious to anyone who really thinks about the issues of having even more financial data stored online, anyway). I have been using Quicken for >25 years now, but I have about had it. Is it time to cut my losses, bite the bullet, and just switch to something less fully functional but more reliable? I hate to flush all of the time I have put into Quicken, and I wish I could just go back to a stable version from about 10-15 years ago, but I was railroaded into "upgrades" to maintain online functionality. Is there any hope?

Jonathan Moretz
Long-suffering, and formerly loyal, Quicken user

P.S. - In addition to what any poor Quicken support engineer might have to offer - and genuinely appreciate any such help and feel deeply for the plight of anyone who has to support this house of cards, I would really welcome input from other Quicken users. Has anyone found an adequate, and above all stable alternative? Has anyone used Personal Capital? I know it is nothing like as complete as Quicken, but it might be adequate (and way less frustrating).

Comments

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

You've probably heard the joke about what to do when you've dug yourself into a hole? STOP DIGGING!

I'd give similar advise here: Stop accepting updates!