Mac Quicken 2006 to 2017

Believe it or not, I've been running Quicken for Mac 2006 until now.  I just got a new Mac which runs the Sierra OS and won't open Quicken 2006, and so I need to upgrade.  Will Quicken 2017 open data files from 2006?  Is some sort of intermediate step necessary to get it to open, or to convert the file?  Am I better off getting Quicken 2016?  Any advice appreciated!

Comments

• John_in_NC
    John_in_NC SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    edited March 2017
    Assuming your file is healthy, 2017 should import your file. Simply follow the steps to import a 2007 file, and your older file should work.

If it does not, then contact support to obtain a copy of 2007 ("Lion Compatible") that will work under Sierra. Migrate to that, and then you will be able to move to 2017. But, I think the direct transfer should work.

https://www.quicken.com/support#osx
  • smayer97
    smayer97 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited August 2018
    Though officially QM2017 only supports loading and converting from QM007, QM2006 is the data data structure and so will read and convert that data file directly. In the event that there is a problem, you should be able to get QM2007 LC as an intermediary version for free. 

That said, I suggest that you make sure that Quicken 2017 for Mac will meet your needs, since it is not an upgrade from QM2007 but rather from Quicken Essentials (which was re-written from the ground up, starting in 2010), so there are some features that are still not there e.g. loan amortization, 2-line display, QuickMath, auto-backups, or are not as fully developed yet, e.g. Customized Reports, investment lot management, performance reports and stats (therefore some data may not carry over). You can start here:
    http://www.quicken.com/mac/compare