RtrnCap & Share Balance Discrepancy

Gerry Blue
Gerry Blue Member ✭✭✭✭
edited October 2018 in Investing (Windows)
QWin 2018 Premier - Windows 10

I recently created a new Quicken file for an elderly relative with failing health. He has some GNMAs in an IRA that produce occasional (monthly?) interest transactions as well as return of capital (RtrnCap) transactions. I'm new to RtrnCap and have done some reading so I understand basically what's going on but need some help dealing with these things in Quicken.

I'm now getting a list box of GNMAs with share balances reported by the brokerage that don't match the share balance in Quicken. I'm guessing this is a reasonably common problem but I haven't yet found a question here that directly addresses this situation. Please guide me to the thread if I've missed it.

One solution I've come up with is to click the "Details" button to the right of each out-of-balance item in the list and select the "Create placeholder transaction for the difference" radio button. It seems to work okay but then I'm looking at going through that process for each RtrnCap transaction every single month. Surely, there's a better way?

How can I easily adjust the share balance change that occurs when a RtrnCap transaction is downloaded for GNMAs?

Comments

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    For a RTRN_CAP in a GNMA, you need so sell some portion of the GNMA in order to produce the money that's being returned to you.
    Creating Placeholders is not a good idea, as that messes with the money's and share balances for that security foreverafter.

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• Sherlock
    Sherlock Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018