"unable to Save" files in Mac Mojave OS all of a sudden?

janfinnell
janfinnell Member ✭✭
I have been using Quicken 2007 since 1999 on several computers. I upgraded to Mojave OS a couple of months ago on my iMac and today all of a sudden am unable to save any new data since the 10/26 file, even though I had backed up on 11/9. All of that info is gone and I'd have to re-enter.all of it My desktop and laptop both run Mojave. Not sure what to do now. This comes at a really bad time to have to research new finance software for my small business. I'm not that tech savvy either. Can I downgrade to Sierra, where i was able to use it, ti buy myself some time to figure this out? Truly perplexed and aggravated here. 

Comments

• smayer97
    smayer97 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2018
    The simply answer is that QM2007 automatic backups do not work with the new APFS drive format that was introduced with High Sierra. 

The simple solution is to turn off automatic backups in your preferences, then depend solely on Time Machine or other backups approaches. If you really want to keep using automatic backups, you have to have or create a HFS+ (Mac OS Extended) drive/partition, then store BOTH the data file and the backups there.

You can read all about this here:
    Is Quicken for Mac 2007 Compatible with Mojave (macOS 10.14)?
    and here:
    Is Quicken for Mac 2007 Compatible with High Sierra (macOS 10.13)?

(If you find this reply helpful, please be sure to click "Like", so others will know, thanks.)

Have Questions? Help Guide for Quicken for Mac
    FAQs: Quicken MacQuicken WindowsQuicken Mobile
    Add your VOTE to Quicken for Mac Product Ideas

Object to Quicken's business model, using up 25% of your screen? Add your vote here:
    Quicken should eliminate the LARGE Ad space when a subscription expires

(Now Archived, even with over 350 votes!)

(Canadian user since '92, STILL using QM2007)

• janfinnell
    janfinnell Member ✭✭
    edited November 2018