Filtering data on reports

GP
GP Member ✭✭
I've been using various versions of Quicken since 1990, and through Q2007 was able to generate financial reports that could be sorted by Memo, Month, Quarter, etc., as well as by Account and Category. This was an invaluable feature: I'm a landlord, and I could enter a tenant's name into the Memo section and then generate reports selecting the name to look at payments, sorted by month, over a period of several years.

Is there any way to accomplish this on Q2017 for Mac? It's hard to believe that this is actually less powerful software than was available for my Mac Classic in 1990. Suggestions?

Comments

• RickO
    RickO SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Kind of depends on what you mean by "sort". First, make sure you are using one of the reports found under "New Report". Using those reports, you can add the Memo column and sort by it (after customizing the report to filter Payees, Categories, etc).

In your example of various tenants, I would instead of using the Memo field, put the Tenants in as Tags. Then you can generate a report grouped and/or filtered by Tag.

Finally, in QM2019, you can generate a summary report that has, for example, tags across the top and categories down the side.
    Quicken Mac Subscription; Quicken Mac user since the early 90s
  • jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    edited March 2019
    There have been some improvements to reports between Quicken 2017 and Quicken 2019, including the ability to select which columns do and don't appear in reports, and the order and relative width of the columns.